“The study of the wisdom teachings should be a continuous process in which the teachings become the predominant factor of life.”  — an Ancient Egyptian Proverb

Welcome to a major source of wisdom derived from the Ancient Egyptian civilization. You will be surprised to see how modern civilization rests firmly on the shoulders of Ancient Egypt.


This website features two main avenues of learning, in over 10 languages.

  1. A trove of free articles written by Moustafa Gadalla. See the Articles link in the menu.
  2. Links to a companion website where numerous books by Moustafa Gadalla can be purchased. There are versions in several languages. See the Our Books link in the menu above.

Enjoy this fascinating insight into Ancient Egyptian culture and wisdom.



Discussion Forum

Clear all

The Five Phases of Horus

1 Posts
1 Users
Reputable Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 116
Topic starter  
The Five Phases of Horus
Heru (Horus) is the personification of the goal of all initiated teachings, and therefore is associated with the number five, for he is the fifth, after Ausar, Auset, Set and Nebt-het. Heru is also the number 5 in the right angle triangle of 3:4:5, as confirmed by Plutarch.
Horus declares, in The Egyptian Book of Coming Forth by Light (incorrectly known as The Egyptian Book of the Dead) [c. 78],
" I am Horus in glory”; “I am the Lord of Light”; “I am the victorious one . . . I am the heir of endless time”; “I am he that knoweth the paths of heaven.”
The above Ancient Egyptian verses were echoed later in Jesus’ words, “I am the light of the world,” and again, “I am the way, the truth and the life.”
Heru, in the Ancient Egyptian language, means He who is above. As such, Heru (Horus)represents the realized divine principle. Heru (Horus) is the personification of the goal of all initiated teachings ,who is always depicted accompanying the realized soul to the Source.
As the model of earthly existence, Heru (Horus) is represented in several forms and aspects—to correspond with the stages in the process of spiritualization.
The five most common forms of Heru are:
1.Hor-Sa-Auset, which means Horus, Son of Isis. Horsiesis (or Harsiesis).
He is often shown as an infant being suckled by Isis, which is identical to the later Christian representation of the Madonna and her child.
In the lifespan of a person, this is the age of total dependency.
2.Heru-p-Khart / Hor-Pa-Khred, which means Heru the Child[Harpocrates].
He is often shown with his forefinger on his mouth, symbolizing the taking in of knowledge.
This is the age of learning, with an inquisitive mind.
3.Horus Behdetyor Apollo is Heru who avenged the death of his father and flew up to heaven, in the form of a winged disk.
This represents the stage in our life of working and struggling to achieve higher spiritual realms, so that one can fly up to heaven—victorious.
Depictions of Horus Behdety are found in most Ancient Egyptian structures, but more prominently at the Edfu Temple.
4. Heru-ur, which means Heru (Horus) the Elder or Heru the Great or Haroeris/Harueris .
Heru-ur (Haroeris) is usually depicted as a hawk-headed male divinity wearing the double crown.
This represents the stage of reaching the age of wisdom, and hence the title, Heru the Elder.
Heru-ur (Horus) The Elder is depicted in numerous Ancient Egyptian temples, but more prominently at Kom Ombo.
5. Hor.Akhti/Horachty [Harmachis] , which means Horus on/of the Horizon—a form of a new morning sun.
Hor.Akhti signifies the renewal/new beginning, a new day. This will be manifested in the form of Ra-Hor.Akhti.
The Destiny -- Five Pointed Star
Stanzas 50 and 500 of the Ancient Egyptian Leiden Papyrus J350, whose first word dua means at the same time five and to worship, consist of hymns of adoration exalting the marvels of Creation.
In Ancient Egypt, the symbol for a star was drawn with five points. The Star was the Egyptian symbol for both destiny and the number five.
The Egyptian five-pointed star forms the corners of the pentagon, which is harmoniously inscribed in the Sacred Circle of Ra. The Star was
the Egyptian symbol for both destiny and the number five.
The five-pointed stars are the homes of the successfully departed souls, as stated in the Unas Funerary Texts (known as Pyramid Texts), Line 904:
'be a soul as a living star'
The Egyptian 5-pointed stars are found all over ancient Egyptian tombs and temples, throughout its history.